Home > The Knowledge Pool > Remembering Master Hitoshi Shiozaki – February 22nd, 1956 – August 29th, 2006…

Remembering Master Hitoshi Shiozaki – February 22nd, 1956 – August 29th, 2006…

Master Hitoshi Shiozaki was a 6th dan black-belt of Yoshukai Karate in Japan and 2nd dan in Jujitsu. He was also the General Manager of the Osaka head office in Japan.  Shihan won the All Japan Full-Contact Karate Open Tournament 4 times from 1981 to 1985.  He had been practicing karate for 30 years and teaching for 20.

I remember the first time I saw Master Shiozaki…and it wasn’t at a tournament.  I was just finishing my 3rd or 4th class in True Vision Karate at the old dojo when I saw this man ride up on an old blue bicycle.  He had the thickest orange tinted glasses I had ever seen which made his eyes look two times too big…He saw my training partner, Jay also a new white-belt at the time, and I exiting the the dojo and immediately got off his bike to bow to us both…he let out the strongest “OSU!” I had heard at the time and I was quite unsure what to do except to smile a little and say, “hello”.  He then bowed into the dojo to talk to Sensei Chris and no doubt watch the advanced class.  It wasn’t until much later that I realized just who this man was when he showed up with a Brown belt in Yoshukai for my Sensei!  Imagine my surprise when I saw this Master talking to the class as I walked-in…I didn’t even bow back to him that day when he got off his bike to bow to me!  *groan* 

After seeing Shihan demonstrate Yoshukai @ Senei Jared/Grayson’s Shodan grading, I asked Sensei Chris for permission to cross train in Yoshukai.  I was very privilaged to be allowed to do this at green -belt but I soon learned that cross-training is harder than it looks! I was too sore and from the Yoshukai to keep up with my core style’s pace, and soon after decided to just focus on Wa-Ki-Ryu. I would occasionally drop in to Shihan’s dojo so his students could use me as “fresh meat” for kick training. 🙂  I remember being so eager to not insult Shihan in any way when training in his dojo that I was quite uptight the first time…then, of course, I was quite blown away by how easy it was to be around the Master.  He would always give you your say in a conversation and, if you had any questions for Shihan, you usually got good answers that  you could think about afterwards.  Shihan would never take any dojo dues from me…he would just say to me, “You Mitchi, just train, no money…it’s OK!” He knew I had my core style and was just looking to share energy – I guess as far as Shihan was concerned, that was good enough.

Shihan would always invite our dojo to his student promotions and demonstrations. We were always made welcome – whether we went there to train, or to simply watch in amazement.  I’ll never forget the sparring/training sessions I had with Shihan and his dojo…those few sessions impacted my core style in such a way that they will forever be a part of my training.  

Categories: The Knowledge Pool
  1. tamarasheehan
    July 22, 2008 at 10:35 am

    He’s much missed. Thanks for posting this.

  2. March 2, 2009 at 9:50 am

    Mitch, I came upon this by accident it’s Jay (the other white belt from the story).. I’m sad to hear of Master Shiozaki’s passing, I tell that same story about him at times. You should e-mail me at bigjskin@hotmail.com, I’m curious to see if you’ve kept in touch with the other students.
    Life’s a trip.

    R.I.P.

  3. tamarasheehan
    March 29, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Jay: I’ve forwarded this comment to Sensei Mitch. Hopefully he’ll get back to you!

  4. Anil Hudasinghe
    May 1, 2009 at 5:40 am

    OSU!
    How we are contact this sensei.
    anil

  5. May 25, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    I remember Shihan just like the above. I was in High School and it was around 1998-1999 (I can’t remember the exact year) and my friend and I would attend his karate class. I was a fairly poor kid at the time and I couldn’t afford to pay for the training. I remember his words, “come train, no pay.. it’s ok!”. I will never forget that. Thank you, Shihan.

  6. Andy
    August 8, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Can you please tell me the lineage of your Yoshukai? Videos look like World or US style, but the link is for the breakaway group formerly with Mike Foster’s Yoshukai International Karte.

    Thanks.

  7. Mitch Holloway
    August 8, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    This is not a Yoshukai site…I trained only a few times with Hitoshi Shiozaki and his students here in Vic, B.C.
    Our dojo was always welcome to train with the Yoshukai Chapter under Shihan but I am not sure where in Japan his Yoshukai is based…possibly Osaka?

  8. Andy
    August 9, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Oh, I see. Thanks

    If Anil still wants to contact someone in that organization, www. wykk.com for World Yoshukai which is administered by Yoshukai Japan (yoshukai.jp), or maybe US Yoshukai http://www.yoshukai.com. These are more like what I’ve seen in your videos than Yoshukai Int’l.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

